We are in town with my mom this weekend.   I took the kids (minus Puddles) to the 35th Annual Red River Revel Art Festival, or as we call it around these parts, “The Revel”.  I’ve been coming to The Revel since I was a child and it was really a treat to bring them out today to share some fun and memories with them.   I didn’t have my camera but I took a few shots on my phone before the battery died. (This is a theme with me, eh?)

Jellybean and Angel Boy dug up rocks and fossils in the Mock Dig.  This was probably the best part of the afternoon.  Kids of all ages just LOVE to play in the sand.  I even got down on the ground and sifted for rocks.  We found quartz, gypsum, shark teeth and petrified rock.   We tried our hand at printing, wandered through the child sized grocery store and painted Clay Pots.  Bella made sand art and Angel Boy attempted Rock Climbing (which is not his forte). 

After we had our fill of pint sized fun, the kids and I strolled through the artist booths.  We ohhed and ahhed over pottery, paintings, glassware, sketches, and wood.   There is something so special about Louisiana art.  The warm colors, the richness, the folksy themes draw you in.  It’s not often that I get to waltz through so much color, so much texture and just revel in it.  I found one artist that made me smile and I could have bought a print if I didn’t talk myself out of it.  I LOVED this one:

 copyright © Brad W Foster 1987

We’ve had a great weekend!   Friday we went to a local nature Center.   The hike was fun but I missed all our Triangle Friends!  Saturday we got to visit with my lil sister and her fiance.   The boys had entirely too much fun attacking their “Uncle Yoshi” but he was a good sport and he taught them how to shoot rubberbands.   It was great to catch up and see where they are going with their lives. 

We are headed home in the morning. 

pp&j

